CERT-FR Warns of Critical PHP Flaws
Free public brief. Slack alerts on the vendors you run come with the paid plans, and a new account gets three days of them, no card.
CERT-FR alerts on two critical PHP vulnerabilities affecting all PHP 5.x-8.x versions, with patches expected 21 October 2026.
CERT-FR issued an alert bulletin regarding two critical vulnerabilities in PHP, affecting all versions from 5.x through 8.x. PHP's official communication on 20 October 2026 announced the issues, with security patches expected to be released on 21 October 2026 at 16:00 Paris time (14:00 UTC). The vendor has not specified a risk classification for these flaws, and technical details of the vulnerabilities themselves are not disclosed in this bulletin.
For unsupported PHP branches (5.x, 6.x, 7.x, 8.0.x, and 8.1.x), which no longer receive vendor patches, CERT-FR recommends isolating affected systems and migrating to a maintained, patched version once available. Two unqualified provisional workarounds are suggested: disabling the PHP upload-progress feature via php.ini (session.upload_progress.enabled = Off, with an equivalent php_admin_flag setting for PHP-FPM) — which mitigates only one of the two vulnerabilities — and blocking or monitoring HTTP requests with a Content-Type header set to multipart, ideally enforced via a Web Application Firewall.
No in-the-wild exploitation is mentioned in this bulletin. CERT-EU has also published a corresponding advisory. Given the breadth of PHP's deployment and the end-of-life status of multiple affected branches, defenders running legacy PHP installations should prioritize isolation and migration planning while awaiting the vendor patch.
Mentioned in this report
Source reporting: https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/alerte/CERTFR-2026-ALE-014
What this brief leaves out
This page is the free tier: the write-up, the severity, the names. In the app the same report carries live profiles of the CVEs it names. The paid plans add the security research and news reporting the free tier leaves out.
It sits in a corpus of 13,797 reports from 143 sources, 492 of them written in the last seven days, and it grows through the day.
A new account starts with three days of all of it, no card, then keeps the government and CERT reporting free. Slack alerts are a paid-plan feature: name the vendors you run and Slack hears about the reports that touch them — about forty a week that are yours, not the four hundred that are not.
Create a free account What it costs